[Resolved] Cannot find Arduino port in Serial In or Serial Out nodes

Hello, I am extremely new to Node Red, so I apologize if this is a simple question, but I cannot seem to be able to connect my Arduino to the Serial In or Out nodes.
I am using the browser version of node red, and my Arduino is on COM1. However, when I enter COM1 in the serial node settings, I get the error: "serial port COM1 error: Error: Error: No such file or directory, cannot open COM1"
Here are my node settings:

It all matches my COM1 settings, but it won't recognize it...Any help is truly appreciated!

What is the O/S you are using?

I'll leave it there as the next question really depends on your reply.

1 Like

I am running a Windows 10 Home, version 1909 and 64-bit type

Does anything else have com 1 open? Is com 1 in device manager?

1 Like

It is in device manager as USB Serial Device, yes, and it is only connected to the Arduino itself but I made sure that the serial monitor is closed before running Node Red

Could it be still hanging onto the port.

A sure fire way is to reboot PC & try again.

Failing that, perhaps there was an issue compiling the serial port code for Windows 10 when you installed node-red or a node that installs serial?

Did / do you have windows-build-tools installed?

npm install --global windows-build-tools

if not - then you might need to install that then install serial port again

see this similar thread Error while lauching Node-Red: "It looks like serialport didn't compile properly. This is a common problem and its fix is well documented here https://github.com/voodootikigod/node-serialport#to-install" - #3 by Jasurf

1 Like

Can you explain what you mean by that? How did you install node-red?

1 Like

I tried this but nothing changed, so I guess this is not the issue.