Accessing varying array object for input to node chart

Hi

Being returned from a HTTP weather API inquiry, the payload I receive is an array that can have a varying number of elements (I think it can vary from 5 to 288). I can feed a single element into a chart node but am struggling to come up with a way of looping through the elements until the end and feeding the associated entries into the chart node (one at a time).

(Okay - goddamit - I'm a newbie - didn't want to mention it, but I suppose it is self evident - but I just love Node-Red. Background info - Node-Red running on a Raspberry Pi using MQTT to communicate via long range WiFi to various Arduino (MKR1010s) remote solar powered boards.) Thanks for any assistance!

Picture: referencing a single array object:

Hello Alan,

it doesnt have to be "one at a time" .. you could structure the chart data as described in this article and send all the values for x and y axis at once in a single msg.

Or if you use a Change node to Move msg.payload.observations To msg.payload then you will have the array in msg.payload, then you can feed it through a Split node and it will give you a stream of separate messages which you can process and send to the chart node.

It is more efficient to reformat the whole message and send it in one go, but possibly easier to send them one at a time.

1 Like

Thank you so much UnborN and Colin.

Got lost with UnborN’s suggestion so tried Colin’s. Worked a treat and using a split node to a debug node I could ‘see’ all the elements ready for the ‘y’ axis of my chart. You bewdy!

Only when I sent it to a chart node I got strange results as I hadn’t handled the x axis correctly (ie not at all :grinning:). All the elements came through pretty well simultaneously and my line graph had 2 or 3 x axis entries.

I’m sooooo close and feel a combo of both suggestions will give me a solution but it’s a little (read a lot) out of my current capability.

But persevere I will … thanks again.