[ADVICE] NR -100% memory use & lockup (reboot usually req'd)

After numerous encounters with having Node Red freeze (or the appearance thereof) and having not the faintest idea as to why, yet spending hour upon hours trying to resolve it, I thought I'd write this up in the hopes that I can help others avoid the long road of misery and understanding I've gone through. Full disclosure, I am not a programming genius by any stretch, I've been using NR for about 3.5 years now and have a better then basic understanding of it.

Usually when the issue occurs, if you open a terminal window and type TOP or HTOP, you'll find node is always at the top, using > 95% RAM memory. Even when you reboot you find NR either refuses repeatedly to launch or immediately "locks up" again. For reasons way above my pay grade the NR error messages didn't help at all.

When the problem occurs NR will completely ignore the command "node-red-stop" and even the CLI command "kill xxxx" (PID) has no affect. So I thought I'd provide some wisdom to others that I've learned via the school of frustration. If this does happen to you I suggest you look in the last location where you were adjusting code and look for the following issues (I'm sure there are others but these are the 2 that kept getting me).

1. LOOPS
First word of advice, be very, very careful when using loops like while or for because NR will live in them forever without any hint to you as to being the reason the RAM just got chewed up and it refusing to run normally. All it takes is to forget the line "++x" ,or put it in the wrong place, or a similar loop irregularity. I sure wish NR could detect this and tell me about my stupidity in the error messages.

2. MQTT