Anyway to loop function node?

hi... is there anyway to use inject node to start code in a function node which repeats as a loop and updates msg.payload at the end of each loop cycle ? and then continues to loop until another inject node is triggered to stop the function repeating ?

i read somewhere that loops can cause node red to stop working but is there any creative method to achieve something along these lines ? i cant really use the repeat at intervals option within the inject node as im trying to make the function node update msg.payload at varying intervals and if the inject node repeats at set intervals it will interfere with the aim of the function..

i downloaded a couple of loop nodes but wasnt sure if there is a way to achieve that with them ? im still learning Node Red and stumbling my way around javascript.. appreciate any help..

A node can only do one thing at a time, processing it's current message.

So yes you can have a loop in a function node, but the node won't be aware that you have sent another message "stop" until it has finished with the current one.

You could, within your loop, check the value of a flow context variable and break out of the loop if it equals "stop".
But if the function node is busy doing it's loop, does the part of your flow which sets the variable ever get to run? I'm not sure.

1 Like

if you do a continuous loop in a function node-red will not run correctly. In fact this is the opposite of how an event driven environment (aka node-red) should be used.

If you clarify what you are doing and what the end goal is, someone will show you how.

In many cases, a JS loop is not even required - even where you think it is! It can often be achieved with the split - > change -> join nodes pattern.