Beginners questions on handling strings and using NodeRED

Hello everyone,

I use MQTT to receive a string that contains sensor data. That string is formatted like this:
"ID;TIME;VAL1;VAL2;VAL3;VAL4;VAL5" where the capitalized names are strings of varying length.

So far I was able to split my message in parts and, using the switch node, send the data to text labels and graphs.
But now I would like to also send that data, or parts of it, to a telegram channel and / or to influxDB.

I'm having a bit of trouble getting my head around how I should prepare my data in order to send it.
As far as I understand, for e.g. Telegram I need my data to be in a msg.payload with a payload of {"value1": "VAL1", "value2": "VAL2,...}. But how would I do that?
I tried to set global variables but that didn't work.

I'm not really experienced in javascript programming, I do most of my novice programming work in Python or micropython.

I'd be really thankful for any pointers in the right direction :slight_smile:

best regards
Chris

Welcome to the forum @elschopi.

Do you have control of the format of data published to MQTT? It would be much easier if the data were formatted as JSON.

Edit: If not, can you post a real example of the data please?

I do have control of the source. It's a ESP32 with sensors in a 3D printed box. I just thought I'd get away with a little software tinkering :sweat_smile: and maybe learn something in the process.

Here's an example of actual data, I just redacted the IP address information:
ESP32;8.09.2021-08:06:19;22.10C;50.13%;943.33hPa;35.3125;192.1xx.xxx.xx

If I'd change my sent data, I'd have to change it into a JSON-friendly format by using key:value-pairs I guess?

There is a trade off here between the additional overhead of constructing the JSON string on the EPS vs the overhead of parsing the string in Node-RED.

So it very much depends on what you're most comfortable doing as ultimately you have to maintain it.