Best practice for installation of node-red and custom node

Hello guys,

I'll need your help today because I'm new in node app and node red and I have two big questions about how to correctly structure and where installed stuff that's I can't solve alone...

First : I've seen one topic about which is better between an local or global installation but I'm still asking myself about it, if someone have any argument for any side ?

Second : In my project I have a lot of custom node but I still don't where is the best place to install them : In /.nodeRed or in node-red folder of the npm node-modules or directly in node-modules of npm. Now i've installed all my custom node in node-red -> node-modules.

I'm working on a window computer
Thanks for any response in advance,

Maurice

I prefer having everything as local as possible.

See this post: Multiple node red instances

That has the advantage of running multiple instances with different node sets and possibly different versions of Node-RED.

As for your second question:
Install all custom nodes in your workspace (where the flows.json is stored, .node-red by default) and setup this workspace as NodeJS project with a package.json (npm init). That way you can keep track of your dependencies.

I'd also recommend versioning each workspace as Git repo.

Hi Maurice, welcome to the forum.

Well as a proponent of local installs, I will try to put both sides in balance. I will also add a 3rd option just for fun.

Which of these is "best" for you will depend on your knowledge, willingness to learn, desire or need to gain maximum flexibility and so on. Only you can work that out. :wink: It should also be noted that you should be able to mix and max these approaches if you really want to (though I can't say that I would personally recommend that).

Global Install

• This is the standard and therefore arguably by far the easiest installation.