Calling C code from within node-red

Hello everybody,

I'm new to javascript. I am interested in running C code inside of node-red. I have read it is possible to run C code in Javascript code using C++ addons, is this possible to do in Node-RED? if not, is there a way to do so?
Thanks for the help

C is not C++, however C & C++ code both need to be compiled to be able to run.
Can you elaborate why you would want this ? Is it just because you are new to javascript ?

I am using C code of an SDK to a device I am using which is Analog Discovery 2 to read measurements from it and then transferring them into Node-RED and do some signal analysis and signal depicting using charts. I am using to transfer the samples Mosquitto MQTT service but I am interested in running the C code directly in Node-RED function to be able to acess the samples without the need to use an MQTT service and thereby reducing the computational load on my PC. I hope I am able to do this inside of Node-RED.

It is possible to run C/C++ by wrapping it in a node.js module. But that is well outside the scope of this forum. However, you can look up how to do it. Not simple though probably.

As for MQTT, assuming that you use Mosquitto as your MQTT broker, its performance overhead on your PC will be minimal. Generally a lot less than running a Microsoft Office app such as Outlook for example :grinning:

1 Like

There is also Aedes, an MQTT broker that runs within Node-red. It's limited compared to mosquitto but it works, and you can be sure it's running when Node-red is.

1 Like

It also uses a LOT more resources than Mosquitto.

2 Likes

Wow, didn't know that. Good thing I switched to Mosquitto! :mosquito:

1 Like

Alternatively, you may look into "exec" node. The "exec" node is pretty efficient.
You can call an C executable with stdin parameters.
The node returns with C stdout parameters.

1 Like

Thank you for this tip, this could save a lot of time.