Can I use c++ in node red?

I am a beginner of node-red and I want to use c++ language in node red.
I found that I can use c++ code as modules in node.js project by c++ addon
but I don't know how to utilize it with node red.
I searched online and found that there are some node-red nodes which is written in C++,
but I could not find any examples.
I wasted much time searching online, but I even don't know how to start.
Can you give me some recommendations for me?

It all depends on what you are trying to accomplish.

You can use c++ with nodejs. node-red uses nodejs for its modules (read: nodes).
So in order to use c++ in NR, you will need to create your own nodes. Did you search the flow library before you reinvent the wheel ?

1 Like

Thanks for the reply!
Actually, I found that I could use c++ by changing cc file to node file and using the node.js module named "bindings", but it takes a long step..
And I found that there is a python function node in flow library
but I couldn't find the c++ function node
so I thought I have to create a new node.
I visited the hyperlink that you mentioned and I mimicked the page and made my lower-case node.
From now on, I will read the code of python function node and I will try to make the c++ function node.
Thank you!

You cannot directly use the same approach. That is because Python is "just in time" transparently compiled upon first execution of the code and C++ uses a separate process for compilation that builds a separate executable file.

So you would have to build in the C++ compiler to the node as well so that committing a code change forced the compile to happen. You would also have to have a way of handling the executable file and all of that would need to work cross-platform. Typically, there are a lot of different dependencies on different platforms that are required in order to be able to compile C++.