Can node-red node/flow run in parallel?

I am new to Node-RED.
I found that all javascript codes written in the node are processed in sequence in a flow (even using async function like setTimeout etc). This is also the same case among flows. Is Node-RED single threaded? Is there any setting to make Node-RED multiple threaded?
If Node-RED can only run by single thread, I would think about putting a loadbalancer in front of multiple node-red instances. Is there a reference architecture for that? Any recommendations?

1 Like

Hi @fangzhu

Node.js is single-threaded so only executes one piece of code at any time. However it uses its event loop to handle multiple workloads at the "same" time; whenever one event fires off some async work the next event can be handled.

Node-RED uses that same event loop to run the flows. If you have a flow that is entirely synchronous in its workload, then it will run in a single event. If that flow does any async work, then that allows the runtime to process multiple messages at the "same" time.

I disagree with your comment about setTimeout. Here is an example flow that use setTimeout in a Function node to send on the message it receives after 5 seconds. There's a second flow that connects an Inject node straight to a Debug node. If you trigger the first flow (and so trigger the setTimeout in the Function node), you can trigger the second flow repeatedly during that 5 seconds and you'll see the messages arrive - with the delayed message arriving after the 5 seconds is up.