Change the content of a GPS-Object to fit in worldmap

Hi, im Beginner here and make my first steps with node red and want to show vessels on a map.

I managed to show a first Vessel on my map. It sends out of a Installation of Venus OS from a Raspberry. Victron provides special GPS Nodes for that.

The second Test is a ESP32, that sends Position via MQTT, but the format of the Message is not recognized by the Worlmap.

Worldmap expects a JSON like

{"lon":xx.xxx,"lat":yy.yyy,"name":"TAXI1"}

but i get Messages as follows:

{"ESPtracker1/position/lon":xx.xxxxx,"ESPtracker1/position/lat":yy.yyyyy,"name":"TAXI2"}

I import Lat and Lon in two different MQTT-in-nodes plus a Inject Node for the Name. Then put all together in a Join Node.

How can i change the "ESPtracker1/position/lat" to just lat ? And should this be done before oder after the join node?

Or is it posible to just remove the "ESPtracker1/position/" Part out of the msg?

I reviewed some JSON Tutorials, but without any Programming skills, its hard to find the solution for me, sorry! And thanks in advance! :slight_smile:

Hi and welcome.

You can move msg properties using an change node.
e.g
move msg. payload.ESPtracker1/position/lon
to msg payload.lon

You may get some more insights by watching essentials videos made by the node-red developers.
[edit] JSON is a text string, messages are Javascript object. There is a difference. JavaScript Object vs JSON: Demystified - DEV Community

Thank you! I tried that before. I tried change nodes, with move, replace, delete Options. Always got an error message. A change node that moves the payload as suggested leads to an Error: "Cannot set property of non-object type: payload.lon".

I tried to make it a string, or a object, or whatsoever. And i read some of these Tutorials / Guides. But did not understand.