Code completion and error flagging on a global variable

Is there a way to define a global variable and get code completion on it's keys in the function nodes code editors ? Like typescript has string literals and will complain when you misspell one of the constants.
I find myself re-using and re-typing a lot of keys (to extract global variables and message topics). That's not DRY.

Hi. I assume you are using Monaco editor for the rich environment it provides?

If yes, then you can annotate variables with jsdoc type hints to get rich help from the editor. For example...

/** @type {Buffer} */
const buf = global.get('myBuffer')

/** @type {string} */
const str = global.get('myString')

However, regarding global custom annotations, no, there is presently no concept of this I'm afraid. (actually that's isn't 100% accurate so I'll just say not easily not in a low-code user friendly manner)

@Steve-Mcl thanks for the tip
I'm using node-red 3 right out of the box.
I'm a Typescript developer, it doesn't have to be 'low-code user friendly'.

My problem is with the 'myString' in your example. That litteral will be used in different places. As a developer you have to keep track of the litterals manually.
Misspellings or typos like 'my-string' or 'mtString' break the flow. There is no code completion or other help in the editor.
Your tip would be usefull if the type indication could be done at the definition of the variable and inherited to the places where the global variable is used.

An better solution would be to have the ability to define global litteral constants like f.i.

// initialisation
const SIMULATION_SPEED_KEY = 'sim-speed'
global.set( SIMULATION_SPEED_KEY , 1)
const BATTERY_LEVEL_KEY - 'battery-level'
global.set( BATTERY_LEVEL_KEY , 2500)

// in function node(s) somewhere in the flow
const batLevel = global.get( BATTERY_LEVEL_KEY) + chargeAmount - dischargeAmount
global.set( BATTERY_LEVEL_KEY , batLevel)