Command fails in "exec" but works in terminal

Hello,

I'm new to node-red and the Raspberry Pi that I'm running it on.

I have a flow that is designed to play an audio file using VLC. It worked until I needed to reinstall RPi due to a faulty SD card. I've created a simple flow to isolate the issue.

The inject payload is this string bash -c "exec -a testPID cvlc /home/pi/Music/ting.mp3"

The exec node (bash) command is empty but appends msg.payload

There are no deployment errors.

When I inject, no sound is played and the debug pane shows the following errors.
[017a7758] vlcpulse audio output error: PulseAudio server connection failure: Connection refused
[017e14f8] dbus interface error: Failed to connect to the D-Bus session daemon: Unable to autolaunch a dbus-daemon without a $DISPLAY for X11[017e14f8] main interface error: no suitable interface module
[0172cb58] main libvlc error: interface "dbus,none" initialization failed
[017cc2e0] main interface error: no suitable interface module[0172cb58] main libvlc error: interface "globalhotkeys,none" initialization failed
[017cc2e0] dummy interface: using the dummy interface module...

But, if I copy and paste the same line into a terminal, it works correctly;

This looks as if it may be some sort of configuration problem. But I'm struggling to find the problem with my limited experience of node-red, Linux and all things Pi . Despite a lot of Googling.

I've pasted the simple flow below.

I would appreciate any pointers.

John

EDIT: I've just realised a very similar question was posted a couple of hours previously. I'll keep an eye on those eplies also. Pulseaudio and musicplayer