Communicating with stepper driver over RS232 or RS485

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to node red so still getting my head around the best way to do things...

I have a Trinamic multi-stepper driver which can communicate over RS232 or RS485, which I need to first configure with a series of specific commands, before then sending occasional additional varied commands and waiting for responses to continue with different processes.

I think what I want to do is send one command and wait for a response before moving to the next automatically. This might have to be looped a few times with altered parameters to configure each individual motor driver channel with different settings.

What's the best way to achieve this? I can't seem to get my head around how to send cmd1, receive response, send cmd2, receive response, etc. in a way that I can loop and configure it.

Trinamic do offer a Python library to communicate with devices, but I'm not sure how well that would integrate with node red.

If no-one else chimes in who knows about that device then the easiest thing is probably to use the python library. You can use an exec node to call a python script (or a daemon node), or you could have a service written in python which communicates with node-red via MQTT.

1 Like

So could I call a script which would take care of all the set up, and then from there on communicate with it over MQTT? Or will it only run in the background if it's a service?

his definitely sounds like a good approach though, I'm keen to explore it. Do you have any resources on how I might be able to pass the data back and forth between Node Red and the running script/service? Also, does Node Red handle all the MQTT server stuff or would I need to run something else to deal with this?

Either