Configuring Public Node-RED Server on RPi

Can someone please help me figure out how to use DDNS services to configure my Node-RED server? I honestly don't know what I'm doing. I'm using noip.com's DDNS services and I've gotten a hostname and installed the DUC on my RPi. The DUC is fully working, but every time I access the hostname on my RPi or on my phone, the connection times out. Do I have to mess with my Node-RED settings file in order for it to work? Or do I have to play with my router somehow? Also, how can I secure everything to prevent hack bots? I'm very new to this so any advice at all would be very helpful! :smiley:

From your quote, I'd have to ask whether you are really sure you want to expose your Pi and Node-RED to the Internet if you aren't sure what you are doing? The Internet is a big, often lawless place that sucks in and spits out unprepared servers for breakfast. It takes under 30 seconds for a new end-point on the Internet to start being attacked by bots. And we have seen attacks against improperly secured Node-RED services too.

2 Likes

If you do this... assume your Pi will be hacked, assume you will have to replace the content of your SD card on the Pi often, because it has been compromised. Always have a known good clean backup image.

Isolate your Pi from the rest of your internal network. For example, I have two firewalls in my home setup, one is the basic firewall on my internet router, another is a separate dedicated device... on the second firewall, it protects all my wired devices on network A, all my wifi is on network B.

Thus, these 3 zones, let me monitor each zone as needed. Zone 1 is router to firewall, no devices here in my case, Zone 2 Network A, Zone 3 Network B. In your case, you will want to put the Pi in the Zone 1 network, so you have a layer of protection between it and the rest of the home network.