Confusions regarding the level of effort needed to debug a flow

I'm new to node red :wave:
I've been programming in node.js as my professional occupation for some years.

I used to have a small automation system build with Huginn which I'm running into some performance issues from time to time so I'm investigating other options.

I don't think Apache Airflow is simple enough for my use case so I pick node red as it seems light weight and I love JavaScript in general.

However I had a rough start, I'm running into a few issues already when migrating one of the simpler workflow I have.

This workflow will retrieve some JSON data from a certain API endpoint and parse it, based on the response it will decide whether it will go one of 2 optional routes, or stop processing the event further.

Sounds simple enough right?

The first problem I run into is that my API key for making the requests can not be properly stored, I cannot find a built in solution for it so I installed a third party package node-red-contrib-credentials .
I consulted Node credentials : Node-RED but it seems intended for node developers.

The second problem I'm facing is I'm unable to debug the output msg object as a whole, I can only look at one property at a time, by default it is msg.payload, make working with http request node a big hassle because it produces msg.statusCode, msg.headers etc. as well.

The third problem is I quickly realized that I need a whole bunch of debug nodes, pairing with each existing node in order to get a clear picture of what is coming in and out of each node, not to mention it cause filtering logs a heavy labor.

The fourth time I'm surprised to find out that in a function node the node.log will not log into debug panel, only node.warn and node.error log into debug panel... But why? Not to mention the node context is resetting itself if I modify the function node, as a result I have to use flow context instead.