Converting simple function to other nodes

Hi All,

I read online that you should always try to avoid use the function node

i have a simple function node that i want to convert to other nodes

but i am a noob in node red and don't have any idea how to convert this simple function to others nodes

msg.percentage = msg.percentage/100;

if (msg.percentage == 1) {
    msg.percentage=0.1;
}

return msg;

any help will give eternal glory to the helper.

Not sure where you got that from, there were some old threads that were looking at the efficiency of the node.js VM that NR uses to make function nodes safer. But really, you will hardly ever see enough of a performance hit to be worried about.

Other than that, it is a trade-off between writing code in a function vs a higher-number of nodes. In your case, a single function node would need two other nodes to replace it, a switch node followed by a change node.

Which approach you prefer is entirely up to you.

It seems a very odd requirement, I am intrigued by what the purpose behind the function is.
In fact it can be done with a single Change node, though personally I would probably use a Function node, I think it is easier to understand as a function and that is more important than a possible small performance improvement.

I admit I haven't done any performance tests on any aspect of Node-RED, but coming at this question from a coder's point of view, I'd be very surprised if the Function node wasn't faster than using the Change node. Unless the node is generating and executing some sort of code equivalent, the checks, conversions and processing will be a lot more complex.

That's one of the reasons I've gone down the route of using Function nodes for anything remotely complicated - that and the fact I've been coding for years and it seems more natural to me :grin:

First Thanks to all of you.

the reason was not to gain better performance but to have a easier to understand and better readable flow.