Counting to three

Hello,

I currently have several automations in Home Assistant that will roll down the covers and awning, they however rely on a poll state node which monitors one of my outdoor sensors (wind and rain).

I would like to refine the logic a bit and have NR count to three before triggering the action. I'm very new to function nodes (as a matter of fact I've been avoiding them for months) but I came up with this:

var count = flow.get('count')||0;
count++;
msg.payload=count;
flow.set('count',count);
if (count>=3) {
    msg.payload=count;
    count=0;
    flow.set('count',count);
    return msg;
}

I think it works but I'm not happy with the looks of it. I'm sure it can be done more efficiently and nicely, specially with the condition "count>=3"; I had to give in and include ">" because at some point I notice count had gone beyond 3, and I was in a forever loop.

Many thanks in advance,

You initialize count and immediately increment it with 1, puzzling...

What are you counting ? You can possibly solve it by using the trigger node instead.

Don’t be too hard on me please, I did not code for 12 years. It may feel trivial to most of the people here, but I feel I have a very long road ahead... functions, messages, topics, etc. feel daunting but I see so much potential in NR that it has brought back my interest in coding.

count++;

could very well be the last sentence now that you mention it :blush:

I am just trying to refrain my automations from triggering the first time the condition I’ve defined us true. For example, I have an automation that rolls down the shutters when the outdoor rain gauge detects rain. What I want to do is for that condition to be true 3 times before I roll down the shutters and not the very first time rain is detected.

Looks fine to me. Easy to read and understand in 6 months time when you need to. Leave the count++ where it is. Only thing you don't need to do is the first msg.payload=count