Create groups and populate on the fly, possible?

I have all my sensors data grouped in rooms and stored in context. Could be possible to iterate through the rooms and creating a group for each one and then create widgets for the sensors values on them?
I'm still learning on node-red and still don't know about it's limitations. Thanks.

Not with the standard dashboard. But there are other options like the node-red-contrib-uibuilder project that give you much greater freedom to build it as you wish albeit at the cost of you having to create it.

3 Likes

You can certainly do this with uibuilder.

The trick is to start with the simplest elements and work up from there. One step at a time and you will soon have it sorted.

Thanks. I'm still doing tests and trying to decide whats the best way to store any topology of sensors in context. At the same time reading all I can about Vue. I know Angular and React, but I still didn't met Vue.

Any advice on nodes/sensors storage would be welcomed.

Personally, I use simple object variables as I don't have enough sensors to worry about memory utilisation that much.

I have a devices variable object that is keyed on a devices ID which is the hardware ID plus the controller ID, e.g. WIFI/D1M01 which is one of my ESP8266 based sensor platforms. Each ID is an object that describes it in text, its location and capabilities (I use single character codes for that so that I can process in and outbound flows based on device capability later on).

Locations are also held in another object so that I can have extended metadata as needed but keep the actual location ID fairly short (though still human readable).

All inbound sensor data is "normalised" with naming convensions for standard data like temperature, humidity, etc. Timestamps are also added along with extended data such as dewpoint, sealevel pressure (I always use that not absolute pressure as that is what weather forecasts use), etc.