Date.now makes Node-RED crash

Hi,
I'm trying to run through a sequence of steps and update a timer for the user to see what time is left on each step. I came up with the code below, which I thought would be similar to what is used on Arduino micro-controllers with the millis function. The while loop seems to make Node-RED crash, particularly the date.now use from what I was able to determine. I guess this is because the date.now returns a big number too often. I stumbled upon the setInterval and setTimeout functions, but as they're non-blocking, I can't get my head around how I should use them instead. I'm not a JS expert, so I don't know what my options would be.

var sequence = msg.payload
var timer //Remaining time to send every minute
var previousTime
flow.set("sequence.stop.write", false, "memoryOnly") //Sequence is started

//Loop through sequence
for (var i = 0; i < sequence.length; i++) {
    timer = sequence[i].time //Initialize timer
    node.send(sequence[i]) //Send sequence step to instruments
    previousTime = Date.now() //Get date at which the step begins
    // Stop the step when "stop" is pressed or timer is 0
    while (flow.get("sequence.stop.write", "memoryOnly") != true || timer > 0) {
        if (Date.now() - previousTime >= 60000) { //Compares current time with previous
            previousTime = Date.now() //Defines new time to compare to
            timer = timer-- //decrement timer by 1 minute
            node.send(
                msg = {
                    "topic": "timer",
                    "time": timer
                    }   
                )
            }
    }
    if (flow.get("sequence.stop.write", "memoryOnly") == true) {
        break
    }
}
msg = {
    "topic": "stop"
}
flow.set("sequence.stop.write", true, "memoryOnly") //Sequence is stopped

return msg;

I'd be willing to take any idea on how to improve this code. Thanks in advance