Delay inside function node between messages?

Hi! I am a newbie of NodeRed and loving it so far. Thank you all for this amazing tool!
In this example from documentation is it posible to have a delays between messages inside the function node?

var msg1 = { payload:"first out of output 1" };
var msg2 = { payload:"second out of output 1" };
var msg3 = { payload:"third out of output 1" };
var msg4 = { payload:"only message from output 2" };
return [ [ msg1, msg2, msg3 ], msg4 ];

thx! :slight_smile:

Yes, but it involves some slightly more advanced javascript, using setTimeout. To avoid this you could send them all to separate outputs then use delay nodes on the outputs and merge them back together again.

1 Like

Another non-blocking option would be to use a 'triggered flow'.

An example of a triggered flow can be found https://gist.github.com/Paul-Reed/c29cfa755fed666805956eb6da42a0d0 which I use to ensure that the flow carries out instructions in a set order - and when the previous instruction has completed.

Paul

EDIT// A better example of a triggered flow -https://gist.github.com/dceejay/cea8afa28b7a93ebdc0f

Yet another option, haven't tried it myself, but take a look at https://flows.nodered.org/node/node-red-contrib-simple-message-queue

This should do what you want, using just the delay node.