Dim lights based on current intensity

Hi,

I am new to Node-Red and have been able to do basic automations with home assistant. However, I am having trouble formatting a function to dim lights. Basically, I want to determine the current brightness of the light and dim it by 10%.

I don't know much about writing code and was wondering if someone could help me. So far, I found something for lowering the volume on another automation and tried to use it, but I think that it's not formatted correctly.

This is my basic flow for testing the dimming effect:

here is the details for the light (Lutron) from debug (complete message) object:

topic: "light.master_bedroom_rope_light"
payload: "on"
_msgid: "1bcb0f89.f9fed"
data: object
attributes: object
Device ID: "8"
Zone ID: "5"
brightness: 206
friendly_name: "Master Bedroom Rope Light"
supported_features: 1
context: object
entity_id: "light.master_bedroom_rope_light"
last_changed: "2018-11-28T16:31:25.318192+00:00"
last_updated: "2018-11-28T16:31:26.053885+00:00"
state: "on"

here is the data of the function node:

old_brightness = parseFloat(brightness);
new_brightness = old_brightness - 30;

newmsg.payload = { data: { 'entity_id': 'light.master_bedroom_rope_light','brightness': new_brightness } }

return newmsg;

The error I am getting is "ReferenceError: brightness is not defined (line 3, col 29)".

Also, I am not sure if I should (and how to) set a minimum brightness, say the lights are at a brightness of 20, and the formula does 20-30, will it cause a problem, because it will give a brightness of -10?

Any help is appreciated!

Thanks

That should be message.something It is not easy to see from your post, but possibly msg.data.brightness. If you hover over that field in the debug window some little buttons appear. Click one of them and it will say Path Copied, then paste that into the code to see what the path to the property is.
[Edit] Also you don't need to create a new message, just do

msg.payload = ...
return msg