Flows.js: stopNode(node,removed) => reject("Close timed out");

Hi All,
I've been running NR (1.01?) with --inspect regularly, and it often pauses on reject("Close timed out");
(line 576 in flow.js - the code does not seem to have changed since 1.01).

I'm no expert with promises, but should the timeout not be cancelled if closePromise is resolved?

I've been 'coping' with hitting run each time, but today decided to look at which node was failing to stop, and found that it was a simple multi-output function node with no async code in it (the one node I changed), and the flow was basically inactive at the time as well. Tracing the node.close() showed that the node had been closed synchronously.... so closePromise had already been resolved?

best regards,

Simon

Hi @btsimonh

if you look at the full function:

const closePromise = node.close(removed);
    const closeTimeout = new Promise((resolve,reject) => {
        setTimeout(() => {
            reject("Close timed out");
        }, nodeCloseTimeout);
    });
    return Promise.race([closePromise,closeTimeout]).then(() => {

The key thing is the last line I've shared above - the Promise.race line. That resolves/rejects according to which ever promise resolves/rejects first and any subsequent promise is ignored.

That means if the closePromise resolves first, then the closeTimeout is ignored - and vice versa.

It may be possible to make it more efficient, but there's nothing inherently wrong with the logic at this point as far as I can tell.

So the question comes to why are you seeing the Function node seemingly timeout. If it is timing out, you'd get a Error stopping node: .... message in the log - do you see that?

Hi nick,

I agree it does not seem harmful, but for me, the timeout always goes off.... and calls reject(), which makes the debugger pause.
I do not see 'Error stopping node'.