Function Node for Beginner

Hi Guys
I'm a total beginner to Node-Red with no programming experience.....I am looking to connect a DHT11 Temp Humidity Sensor with an Uno (Done) and represent on Two Graphs Node Red /ui. I am stuck with the Java code required in the function node to take the input "Temperature: *.*C or Humidity **% and only output the actual value to the respective graphic node.
Would any be able top point me in the right direction?
Thank You
Philip

Feed the message containing the values into a debug node and show it what it says.
By the way it is javascript not Java. Completely different but named so as to cause maximum confusion.

1 Like

You need to decide first how the arduino will "talk" to NodeRed. MQTT? http endpoint? Other methods?
Then on nodered, you need to put the "listen" part in place.
You may not need to write any function. Just using the available nodes could do the trick. But, 1st things 1st, what is going out and how, from the Uno?

This is what the debug node is showing in the "debug" pallett. I am inputting Uno serial (9600) into Pi using USB ......just passing msg.payload into debug node....what I want to do is split the temp & humidity into separate strands and attach a graph node for each?

That sounds interesting! Is there an example of this I could take a look at?

First you would need to connect the uno to Ethernet (or wifi). You can search for "arduino ethernet shield".

Then for exemple, using MQTT, this guide could help: http://www.steves-internet-guide.com/using-arduino-pubsub-mqtt-client/

You would also need to run an MQTT broker (eg mosquitto) for NodeRed and the Uno to exchange messages.

Clearly, there are much more "components" (hard and soft) to use than just the Uno board but, it will give you so much more flexibility.