Function node & var definition

I must anticipate that I am not a programmer and most comes from cut & paste from others work.
I cannot understand the behavior of a function node I am using (NodeRed 3.0.2 and Monaco editor).
The function uses a Case statement:

var data = msg.payload.split("\t");
switch (data[0]) {
    case 'SOC':
        stateoc = parseFloat(data[1] / 10);
        break;
    case 'V':
        voltag = parseFloat(data[1] / 1000);
        break;
    case 'I':
        curren = parseFloat(data[1] / 1000);
        break;
}
return [
    {
        payload: {
            SOC: stateoc,
            Voltage: voltag,
            Current: curren
        }
    }
]

but written like this I get: "ReferenceError: 'name' is not defined (line 16, col 18)" for the three variables used. If I run the flow, after the error messages, the function works fine.
If I resolve the error message defining the variables with var or let (same result for both), I get no error but the function doesn't work anymore and all the variables results are undefined.
Any clue on this behavior?

For the variables inside the switch statement, if you use let or const to define them, the JavaScript standard ensures that they exist only within the current context. In your case, the context is within the individual case statement.

If you use the older var to define them, they are "hoisted" to the top of the function internally so that will work. Using them without a definition will make them global. In the case of a node-red function node, that doesn't mean much because each function node operates in a node.js virtual environment. However, both of these approaches are very much discouraged since in other contexts, they can cause various issues.

The thing to do here would be to define the variables at the top of the function:

const data = msg.payload.split("\t");
let stateoc, voltag, curren  // defines the vars but does not give them a value
switch (data[0]) {
    case 'SOC': {
        break;