Function with two outputs

Dear colleagues
I'm not new to node-red, but I'm no programming experts neither.
While working on a flow, I tried to figure out how to create more than one message in a function node. I did read the documentation about the function node. And I thought I understood. But a very small tests showed me, that I don't.
Here is the test. I would be grateful for an explanation, why I can't duplicate an incoming message, change payload and topic, and create two different outgoing messages.