Generic / Reusable flows

I'm very new to this and I am currently reading lots of learning resources to get up to speed. One thing I have noticed (and which has me slightly concerned about Node-RED's suitability for me) is that all the examples and tutorials I have seen are very hard-coded in terms of the connections between specific devices. For example, a simple lighting example has 'Living room light switch' connected to 'Living room light'.

Is it possible to describe flows in a more generic manner? I.e. I would like a generic flow that describes how a 'light switch' and a 'light' interact, and then I'd like to be able to associate individual light switches with their corresponding light. I might have dozens of instances of this 'switch and light' flow and it would seem rather onerous to hard-code each relation in the flow itself.

If this is possible, can someone please point me at some relevant examples, tutorials or videos?

One solution is that you can make the generic bit a subflow which can then be reused. See the docs https://nodered.org/docs/user-guide/editor/workspace/subflows

Thanks for the responses. It seems that Node-RED may not be the best tool for me then.

You can also use environment variables for many of the node configuration properties ${myEnvVar} style... that allows quite a lot of per instance customisation.

A node-red way to do this would be to have one flow that handles all lights and light switches and make it data driven. An incoming event (a switch change event for example) would identify which switch it was and what the event was. Then a lookup table or other mechanism would be used to attach data that identifies the associated light to the message, and this would be passed to your generic flow to take the appropriate action.

1 Like

It could depend on the method you're using to communicate with your switches and lights, and how you receive and send information.