Global variables, wich problems?

I know the difference between global, flow and context variable and I don't use the global variable because some time ago I had read that to reduce memory usage (Pi4), among other things, it was advisable not use global variables.
I don't find anymore the post on web and so I'd like to know if there are some problem to use global variables (I should use at least 20).

(yes, my English is terrible but I do my best)

EDIT:
Found!

https://www.ness.com/understand-how-to-reduce-memory-usage-of-promises-in-node-js/

Hi @Giamma - Your english is better than mine, and I'm British!

global, flow and context variables are nothing more than the scope that they apply.

They will occupy the same amount of resource, and unless your storing file blobs in variables, I really wouldn't worry.

if storing variables at the global scope works for you, then carry on.

I am not a pro at the Node JS runtime, but if there is a difference, I'm sure it's negligible, and in most cases, won't get noticed.

As I said, I am not a pro - so others may correct me, if there is a measurable difference.

1 Like

Found!

https://www.ness.com/understand-how-to-reduce-memory-usage-of-promises-in-node-js/

Avoid global variables: Do not use global variables. 
They don’t get collected and consume a lot of memory. 
Instead, use local variables or pass parameters

I think you may be assuming that flow, & context variables act differently to global variable in Node RED - at the process level they do not, it only denotes what can access them.

flow, context & global variables will all live in memory in the same way.

Why do you assume a global is not collected?
(remember a global variable is a Node RED concept - not a process concept)

if that is the thought pattern, then a flow & context variable also does not get collected.

any variable can be removed (regardless of scope) by setting it to undefined

global.set("someVar",undefined)