Help simplifying flow

I have been using node-red for several years, but I've only learned just enough to get by. I've attached a screenshot of my flow that does the following:

Captures wifi probe requests (lower left which is a pcap node)
Publishes detected MAC addresses to MQTT Topic
Listens to same MQTT Topic (upper left)
Routes message by MAC address, one output is my phone, one output is my wife's phone, all other MAC addresses are ignored
Forwards to watchdog timers - one each for Jeff and Tracey that after 5 minutes of inactivity triggers a network scan, and one each for Jeff and Tracey that after 12 minutes of inactivity triggers an "away" message, and one that after 12 minutes of inactivity of both Jeff and Tracey turns on my motion detection camera
Then there is some logic to keep scanning the network once per minute after the motion detection is turned on, and some other nodes to turn off the motion detection as soon as anyone is detected, either from the detection of the probe request or by the active network scan.

It works well, but it seems overly complex. I have deliberately avoided writing javascript to simplify, but I'm thinking there should be ways to simplify even without javascript. It's very brute force as it is.

It would be interesting to hear how others might design a similar flow.

Cheers
Jeff

1 Like

Jeff, a design like this is very hard to follow. You have managed to create a graphical spagetti code. Good news you say it works as expected so the first thing, before trying to optimize, clean it up to make it easier to understand and for the future, easier to maintain

First thing is therefore to start moving things around to make a clearer view

I would:

• see if I could break apart things a bit, put similar functionality more together so to say (obviously, the whole functionality relies on the scanning)
  • figure out if I should split things on separate tabs or create a subflow
  • never going back & forward will all those connections