Help with creating a gauge to display MPH for a treadmill

Hello,
I am new to Node-RED and programming in general so please bear with me. I am trying to replace a broken treadmill console Raspberry Pi 4 Model B and a touch screen. I would like to display and control everything in the node-Red-dashboard. I already have a few things working such as incline/decline and speed control.

I am needing some help with creating a speedometer gauge to display the belt speed in MPH. I have been able to view the speed pulses from the treadmill's tachometer line on my oscilloscope and manually calculate RPM based on the pulses and some physical measurements I have made. For testing purposes I am feeding the tachometer pulses into the GPIO Pin 4 through a two resistor voltage divider to reduce the voltage to 3.3 volts. Using a crude python script running on the PI I am able to detect the falling edge of the pulses so I am confident that electrically everything is working correctly.

I have been searching the Internet looking for something like this and have not been successful.
I am not sure how to create a flow to read the pulses and display the results in MPH as a round gauge.
Any advice or thoughts would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Dave

1 Like

What is the frequency of the pulses ? As the RPi is not a real time operating system it may not be able to accurately read and report on the pulses (as well as do everything esle you have in mind) in real time.

You may be better off using an external device such as an arduino or an ESP32 to capture this info and send that to the PI

I assume you want to do all this in realtime so i would start with something simple in the native NR dashboard - there are plenty of gauge modules etc in there.

Craig

Hi Craig,