Help with JSONata

Hello everyone!

I am facing issues where I am trying to query specific data from an array, example, if i only want the names for both routers , how do i do it? As I searched up, using jsonata would be easier but i am still new to using JSONata.

It would be really great if you could guide me on this!

Personally I prefer to use a function node. Something like
const names = msg.payload.map(e => e.name)

Hi @Colin ,

Thanks for the suggestion , but when i enter the code into the function node, it didn't display anything.

What do you mean by didn't display anything? Feed the function node into a debug node to see what it sends. The line I posted puts the new array into a variable, did you put that in msg.payload?

Did you leave return msg at the bottom of the function?
Did you set the msg.payload?

e.g.

const names = msg.payload.map(e => e.name)
msg.payload = names
return msg
1 Like

ohh I forgotten about that my bad!

It works! I am able to get the data, but is there a way I can combine these two names into one sentence?

Exactly what do you want out?

What i would like out from the output is,

For example Type: "Router" Total_Quantity_left: "0", Type: "Bosch Router" Quantity: "0" as the output in a single line.

But not sure if it could be done.

That doesn't seem to be much related to the original question. For that I think you will need a forEach loop that builds up the string. Or Array.reduce() to do the same thing,

is there an example? where i can achieve this function.

You first ask "i only want the names for both routers" now you want text from multiple properties - all in one line!

Please be concise with your questions & avoid changing your mind as we all contribute our free time helping out.

Moving on...

You can achieve a single line of text by looping through the array and generating a new string consisting of the parts you want. Then join the resulting strings with a ", "