Help with mqtt garage door logic

I am fairly new to node-red but have had a lot of success with it so far with thermostats, thermometers and my esp8266/mqtt garage door controller.

I want to implement in NR this logic: "At 9pm every night, if the garage door is open, close it and email me that I forgot".

I would like to try to do this using native NR components as much as possible, and avoiding use of Flow or Globabl context memory.

If I was writing this using a RESTful api for my opener/controller, it would look simply something like this:

// 9pm triggered through a scheduler
  if ( get_garage_door_state() == OPEN )
     set_garage_door_state( CLOSED)

Below is what I have so far, trying to use a Trigger node. It works at 9pm but the problem is since I also receive state messages from the controller at various times throughoutt the rest of the day and it re-closes the door throughout the day :slight_smile:

I have a couple' ideas but they get pretty messy so I wonder if there is a style or approach that I am overlooking. Thoughts?

First time to try this export function so I hope this works: