Helpful criticism requested

I'm new to node-red and sorta new to javascript and would appreciate any helpful criticism concerning best practices.
This function stores sensor data in a context variable every 5 seconds then at one minute timer ticks sends the data to a file. It only sends the last sensor data stored in a variable, not all data for the past minute.

var ambient = context.get('ambient')||0;
var brewbox = context.get('brewbox')||0;
var brewbucket = context.get('brewbucket')||0;
var setpoint = context.get('setpoint')||0;
var heat = context.get('heat')||0;
var cool = context.get('cool')||0;
var enable = context.get('enable')||false;
var time_tick = context.get('time_tick')||0;
var payload = msg.payload;
var topic = msg.topic; 

switch (topic){
    case 'tick':
        context.set('time_tick', payload);
        //node.status({fill:"red",shape:"dot",text:msg.topic});
        if (context.get('enable') === true){
            msg.payload={
                  'TIME':context.get('time_tick')||0, 
               'AMBIENT':context.get('ambient')||0,
               'BREWBOX':context.get('brewbox')||0,
            'BREWBUCKET':context.get('brewbucket')||0,
              'SETPOINT':context.get('setpoint')||0,
                  'HEAT':context.get('heat')||0,
                  'COOL':context.get('cool')||0}
        msg.topic = 'status_tick';
        return msg;
        }
        break;
    case 'enable':
        node.status({fill:"red",shape:"dot",text:topic +':' + payload});
        context.set('enable', payload);
        if (context.get('enable')){
            msg.payload={
                  'TIME':'TIME',
               'AMBIENT':'AMBIENT',
               'BREWBOX':'BREWBOX',
            'BREWBUCKET':'BREWBUCKET',
              'SETPOINT':'SETPOINT',
                  'HEAT':'HEAT',
                  'COOL':'COOL'}
            return msg;
            }
        break;
    case 'ambient':
        context.set('ambient',payload);
        break;
    case 'brewbox':