How can I update a switch status on the dashboard

I am new to Node-RED and have been playing with it for the last few days. I would like a few pointers as to how to proceed with my project.

I have node-red installed on a raspberry pi. I have a client, broker, and dashboard all running on the Pi. Performance is good enough for what I am doing.

I have an ESP32 client running and subscribed to two topics. The ESP32 also publishes to one topic.

The ESP32 has a switch that I can check the status of with the Raspberry Pi. When I check the status, I get the correct response. I also have a relay connected to the ESP32 that I can operate by issuing a command from the Raspberry Pi.

On my Dashboard I have two buttons that pubblish topics to the broker. One topic is the relay and the other is the switch status. The relay works properly but I have an issue with the switch status.

When the status button is clicked, I need it to return the status of the switch to both the dashboard and the Raspberry Pi. For the Pi it should send the same publish message that gets sent when the Raspberry Pi asks for a status upadte. For the dashboard a simple line of text indicating either "Door is closed" or "Door is open" would be good enough. It would also be nice to have a circle that changes from red for closed to green for open. However, that is not really necessary.

I can export my flow and attach it here if someone could tell me how to do that.MyFlow.txt (2.2 KB)

I uploaded it as a text file but I don't think that is the proper way to do it.

Thank you.

I am not sure I fully understand that. Why do you need a button to request a status update, why does it not automatically update whenever the status changes?