How to execute a nodejs file inside function node

Hi!

Sorry if it's a stupid question, I am new to node-red.

Trying to execute this code inside a function node:

"use strict";

const { KafkaStreams } = require("./../index.js");
const { nativeConfig: config } = require("./../test/test-config.js");

const kafkaStreams = new KafkaStreams(config);
const stream = kafkaStreams.getKStream("test12345");

kafkaStreams.on("error", (error) => {
    console.log("Error occured:", error.message);
});

console.log("Started");

stream
    .mapJSONConvenience()
    .mapWrapKafkaValue()
    .filter((rec) => rec != null)
    .tap((msg) => console.log(msg.node.ipaddr))
    .wrapAsKafkaValue()
    .to("output-topic-12", 1, "buffer");

stream.start();

What do I need to change in order to be able to execute this code inside a function node?
I was able to do it via a exec node, but want to set certain parameters inside the code and eventually create a kafka streams node.

Before implementing it yourself in a function node as code, I would take a look in the Flow Library for existing nodes to your problem. That way it can be integrated much better into a flow-based environment like Node-RED. :grinning:

As it turns out, there are some Kafka nodes available: https://flows.nodered.org/search?term=Kafka

Aside from the good point that @kuema makes about checking for existing nodes, on the more specific point about the Function node, I recommend reading the docs https://nodered.org/docs/user-guide/writing-functions

In particular, the section on loading additional modules as you cannot use require in the Function node directly - https://nodered.org/docs/user-guide/writing-functions#loading-additional-modules

2 Likes

And, if you really wanted to implement it yourself inside a Function node, error handling becomes really important. For example, an unhandled error emitted by a stream (or any EventEmitter) will crash the whole NodeJS process! :boom: