How to keep flow running after one of the triggers is false?

I'm sorry the title is not to clear, but I wasn't sure how else to say it.

I am new to Node-Red so please let me know if I don't give all the information you need.

We have an application on an industrial device where we are monitoring the status of a piece of machinery. We are loading all the values into a database. But we only want to write to the database when the machinery is running. We are monitoring pressure and solenoid valves.

Everything is working beautiful except for the control to start and stop the flow.

When the pressure is > 0 and a digital input turns on, we know the machine has started and we must start the flow. The tricky part for me though, is that the digital input could turn on or off multiple times during runtime but as long as the pressure is up we need to keep the flow running.

So, in short, if the conditions are met in 2 variables, we need to consider the machine running, but after the machine is running, we can only monitor the pressure variable and not the manifold.

I was attempting to use the switch node, but it did not seem to be able to do what I need it to.

I look forward to your advice. Thanks!!!

you could store the values in context (flow or global) then use a function node to compute the state.

e.g.

• pressure --> change node (store value in flow as "pressure")
  • digital input --> change node (store value in flow as "runSignal")

in a function node (somewhere suitable - perhaps before the SQL node)...

var pressure = flow.get("pressure") || 0; //get pressure value from flow context store
var runSignal = flow.get("runSignal") || false;  //get runSignal value from flow context store

//if runSignal is not false OR pressure is > 0, let the msg be sent onwards
if(runSignal || pressure > 0) {
    return msg; //pas the msg to next node 
}
return null; //halt the flow (dont send msg)

EDIT: