How to measure the delay in node red between the mqtt gateway

I am new to node red .
I would like to know if there is a node that can be used to measure the delay between the nodes in node red flow

There is a nice simple subflow you can import and use to measure time between 2 points...

https://flows.nodered.org/flow/63f29373e826a9fd4943d679d43e725f

Thank you for your reply. I will work with it .

Is it possible to store the values of the start and end values from the flow timer

sure, you can do anything.

As it states in the readme the results are delivered in the msg and stored in global context...

The results (msg)...

The results (global)...

You can do whatever you want with them

Thank you .i will try it

I have one more question regarding the flow timer , when it measure the start time and stop time does it inputs any delay ?
ie,the duration is the time taken just to complete the flow or does the flow timer node add any extra time.

I am 100% certain this node will add some time (it is code after all) but is likely immeasurable (like 1 ms or less). Why not give it a go? Put a start and a stop without anything in between. Run it a few times. What value do you get? If you consistently get 2ms then either deduct 2ms from other results or accept it is good for +/- 2ms.

If you are after solid accuracy with zero jitter and determinism, then you are on the wrong platform :wink:

My recommendation is when assessing the performance of a piece of code is first - don't (unless you know you have a problem). Next, run the timer against multiple (hundreds/thousands) of iterations several times over (to get an average).

1 Like

Ok .Thank you once again for explaining in detail.

I have 1 more question ,in the document it is given the time is measured in MS but is there any way to measure it in microseconds?

Sure, if you modify it to use performance hooks or process.hrtime.

But seriously, what are you trying to measure?