How to retrieve "Site Sizes" from my custom node source code

Hello, I am creating a custom dashboard node (custom chart based on d3 library) by using addWidget API. To get my chart displayed correctly inside the group (meaning to avoid my chart being too big and displayed the scroll bars), I need to take into account the 1x1 Widget sizes (sx, sy), the Widget Spacing (cx, cy), and the group Padding (px, py) from the dashboard/Site panel. Today my chart is working fine only for default values, as I use hard coded default values(48x48, 6x6, 0x0) inside my custom chart code. Is there a way to retrieve these sizes to avoid using hard coded values ?

Hi Thierry,

I'm not a layout expert, but I got some good feedback from the community some time ago. Perhaps you get a better understanding of your issue by reading that post …
Bart

Hi Bart,

Thanks for the pointer, but it doesn't help me so much as I really need to retrieve the exact sizes in pixel to perform a svg drawing.
Thierry

Hi,
as long as you have the ui object you should be able to both

var sizes = ui.getSizes();
    var theme = ui.getTheme();

Not really. For custom ui widgets what is exposed is only from node-red-dashboard/index.js

module.exports = function (RED) {
    return {
        addWidget: function (options) {
            return addWidget(RED, options);
        }
    };
};

Or I cant really understand anything :thinking:

Ah right (paging memory back in)...

Yes maybe change that to

module.exports = function (RED) {
    return {
        addWidget: function (options) {
            return addWidget(RED, options);
        },
        getSizes: function() { return require("./ui")(RED).getSizes(); },
        getTheme: function() { return require("./ui")(RED).getTheme(); }
    };
};

If that is workable / makes sense, can make it permanent in next release :slight_smile:

Tried it and it's working very well

if (ui === undefined) {
	ui = RED.require("node-red-dashboard")(RED);
}