How to store & update NMEA-AIS data?

Hi Guys,

I've been on this problem for a while and I can't think of a way to make this work.
I am no programmer, I have learned what I know on this forum (Thank you all for that).

I am recieving NMEA AIS data. I calculate the distance and the bearing from me to the vessel.
Now besides displaying it on WorldMap, I'd like to have a table that I can sort on distance-from-me, so I can see which vessel is closest to me.

As AIS is transmitted in different time intervals (Sailing vessels more frequent then moored vessels) I need a way of storing the data.
Also, a vessel can transmit several sentences which hold different values/variables.
example:

2 different AIS messages can hold a similar MMSI number, but have different info about the vessel.
I'd like to store the data under the MMSI number, so when I call the latest, i get all the info I have, like MMSI, lon, lat, name_vessel, distance to me, etc etc.

I have tried this with InfluxDB, but I think because it is time based, I can't show it on the dashboard properly, because after a couple of minutes, I have several entries in that list from the same MMSI number.

What I'd like to achieve is store all data for a certain MMSI number and update some fields of it if need be.

I hope it all makes sence :blush:

Influx certainly not the tool to use for this I don't think.

The first thing to understand is how many vessels you need to hold data for?
Then, how long do you keep the data - or rather, how do you know when you no longer need the data?

If the number of vessels is a manageable number (no more than a few hundred maybe?) then you can hold all of this data in a Node-RED global variable as an object key'd on the MMSI number.

So when you get new data for that number, you are simply overwriting the previous data.

There was a similar post, maybe this may help.

1 Like