HTTP request with variable date in address

Hello,

I'd like to send consecutive JSON/http requests and write the data to separate tabs on a Google Docs spreadsheet.

The historic data is stored on a server as day by day entries - I think in JSON format - and each one can be accessed by typing in the date it was generated (e.g. https://website.net/xxx-2020-09-19).

The resulting webpage is a list of fields which should map to columns in the Google Sheet e.g: {"min":24,"hr":1,"dow":"Sat","dom":19,"mon":12,"yr":2020,"imp":8880,"gen":600,"v1":2393,"frq":4988,"pect1":8880,"nect2":600,"hsk":300}

From what I've seen, I'm hoping it should be possible to automate the http request and just alter the final digits of the address as consecutive dates, but I'm struggling with how to do this.

I'm completely new to Node-RED but have done a little Dynamo and Grasshopper scripting so I get the concept of node-based programming.

Can anyone point to the best node/s to start with? I've seen BigTimer but this seems to be for future events unless I'm mistaken.

I'm running Node-RED on a Pi Zero WH if that makes any difference. Thanks in advance.

You can send the url to use to the http-request node in a msg so just format the url you need in a change node and pass it to the request node.

If you want to automate the date selection, you can use JSONata with the $now (to get the current date/time) and $moment (to format the output). You can use JSONata in the change node so you can do it all in 1.

Here is a simple example flow that returns the url using today's date.