ID generation as UUID. Development of modules. Change core NR behaviour

Hi everyone,

First of all, thanks to everyone who has been involved in developing this amazing application! This is my first forum post here and I started working with Node-RED several months ago during my Master's Thesis. Now, I'd like to incorporate NR in a larger, dockerized service-based application. I'm a bit of a noob in many things so please bear with me. I'd be very greateful for any tips or pointers where my train of thought is wrong or improvements to my ideas.
this is going to be a bit of a larger post but I'll try to structure it as best as I can. I put a tl:dr at the bottom as well.

In essence, here are my main goals:

1. Change the generation of IDs to UUID4.
  2. Save flows independently in a Postgres Database.
  3. Provide an API to retrieve flows out of the Postgres Database.

I know this touches on the typical topic of integrating NR, instancing it, and providing multi-user features that have been discussed a lot and are on the roadmap (AFAIK?). However, with what I did so far, it was possible to achieve some of my previous goals, so I'm hoping that some smaller changes can go a long way until NR supports more of my needs natively.

Change the generation of IDs to UUID4.
As far as I understand, IDs for Flows (and nodes, wires, etc.) are generated in packages/node_modules/@node-red/util/lib/util.js. I used the uuid npm module and added

const { v4: uuidv4 } = require('uuid');

and changed the function to

function generateId() {
    return uuidv4();
}

Afterwards, I ran npm build. However, the ID generation behavior didn't change. Did I miss something?

Save flows independently in a Postgres Database.
For prototyping this functionality, I use a combination of two modules for NR.

1. node-red-contrib-flow-manager
  2. node-red-contrib-storagemodule-postgres

Here, my general question is: How do these modules even work? :smiley: