If condition with a function

Hi all node red maniacs!!

I'm working on a simple function condition. I'm a javascript beginner so please patience jejeje.

I have to make several if conditions so far i have.

let night = msg.payload
let day = msg.payload
let home = msg.payload
let away = msg.payload

if (night === true) {
    msg.payload = 'noche'
} else {
    msg.payload = 'dia'
}

return msg;

That works ok and i can retrieve the correct payload depending the day or night.

This is the output:

NOW, i have to also make the condition for the others two variables (home and away) but no luck with that because the conditions make a little mess.

How can i achieve that to perform correctly?

Thanks a lot!

Hello,
There is two problems here.
Firstly you are assigning your message payload value to all variables. So var night and day and so on will all have the same value. That’s the first thing as it doesn’t make sense to have four variables that have exactly the same value.
Secondly by doing if(somevar === true) you are only checking if somevar is a boolean type with a value of true. So you can only ever have two states true or false but you want to check for four different states.
So you need to put something like a string or number into the function that can have more states and than you can compare the value of msg.payload directly.
For example for a string something like: if(msg.payload = "afternoon") and than use if, else if etc.
An alternative would be to have a look at switch cases which are made for exactly this purpose:

They compare one input value to a bunch of other values.
Johannes

Ok, let me see if i get it.

First i do something like:

let night, day, home, away = msg.payload is that ok ?

Any example on how to manage the conditions?

I also will check the switch. Maybe i can do that with a node directly?.

Thanks a lot!

What is in the msg.payload you put in the function? Can you please tell us?