Import data from sensor into node-red

Hey people!

I’m doing a uni assignment on Iot, and we are doing a soil moisture system with a water pump. One stipulation is that we need to use Node-Red.

List of components

*MCP3008 8-channel ADC
Raspberry Pi 4

*Dfrobot Gravity: Analog Waterproof Capacitive Soil Moisture Sensor

*Piico Dev oLED

*Piico Dev adapter for raspberry pi

*Dfrobot: Amphibious Horizontal Submersible Pump

*Using Mac and controlling raspberry pi through the terminal.

Okay. Im a full rookie here… Apart from connecting a dht22 humidity this is my first project…. Here’s where I’m at:

Installed MCP3XXX library and done this…. sudo pip3 install adafruit-circuitpython-mcp3xxx As per everything on this thread Python & CircuitPython | MCP3008 - 8-Channel 10-Bit ADC With SPI Interface | Adafruit Learning System

Set up a mosquito mqtt broker and
node red is connected (check screen shots)`

Heres the code that has been stored
in ` “/home/pi/./code.py”

# SPDX-FileCopyrightText: 2021 ladyada for Adafruit Industries
# SPDX-License-Identifier: MIT

import busio
import digitalio
import board
import adafruit_mcp3xxx.mcp3008 as MCP
from adafruit_mcp3xxx.analog_in import AnalogIn

# create the spi bus
spi = busio.SPI(clock=board.SCK, MISO=board.MISO, MOSI=board.MOSI)

# create the cs (chip select)
cs = digitalio.DigitalInOut(board.D5)

# create the mcp object
mcp = MCP.MCP3008(spi, cs)

# create an analog input channel on pin 0
chan = AnalogIn(mcp, MCP.P0)

print("Raw ADC Value: ", chan.value)
print("ADC Voltage: " + str(chan.voltage) + "V")

Now I run this
code: ` python3 ./code.py and I get data coming in from the sensor. And it does change when I put the sensor in water… so that seems to be working (Look at screenshot).

So what I need is to import this into node-red I’m assuming we need to use an “mqtt in” node, but I just can’t figure it out… I’ve watched probably 40 different YouTube videos, and it looks so easy but nothing seems to work.