Is there an easy way to enumerate MQTT publishing devices

Hello,

First, I confess: I am new to node-red.

I want to setup a demo with a small number of devices sending sensors values in MQTT on a topic "sensors/" ; the device id is a kind of serial number; it is unique for each board.

I was amazed by the easiness to show a nice dashboard connecting to my MQTT broker, mixing gauges (e.g for temperatures), values (like humidity), and so on ... to display the sensor values.

That is perfectly OK for one board, but if several board are now in place, it is more tricky to me.

I would like to have a dynamic list to be built showing all "device_id" currently publishing
And ideally after that, filtering the dashboard display gaujes on one device selected in this list.
Else, of course, if the dashboard mixes data from several boards, it becomes meaningless.

Is there an easy way for building that list, dynamically then filtering on a specific board ?

Thanks for your help.

I don't think there is a way when an MQTT publisher is seen for the first time to automatically create dashboard widgets to display the data.

I suppose you could have a bunch of widgets predefined and direct data from a new publisher to the first unused one.
I think there are ways to hide/reveal specific widgets too. Combined with the above, that would give at least the appearance of dynamically created widgets.

Put data from each device into it's own dashboard group. Then you can label the group, draw a border round it, change background colour, etc.

Do you mean something like this