Joining MQTT messages when using a wildcard

Hi,

I am relatively new to Node-Red, and have been plugging away for around 12 months with limited coding knowledge.

I have a system that sends out MQTT messages for each of the sensor readings in separate MQTT messages. These are in a custom form, but the basis of which uses the serial number and a suffix to differentiate between them. I am using a wildcard on the MQTT input to draw them all in using one node.

For example, where the "+" is used in place of the serialNum
building1/event/type/fixture/id/+/name
building1/event/type/fixture/id/+/motion
building1/event/type/fixture/id/+/temperature

Each message has a unique topic, however they both contain the same path in the msg object "SerialNum".

This building has over 900 of these sensors, so the number of MQTT messages is over 5000, and these are being sent very, very regularly, and I have no control over any of this, with the exception of the topic format. I can adjust the part, and <data - motion/name/etc), position in the topic.

Previously, we had used separate flows for each sensor, merging together the data and so on. However, I am looking for a way to scale this up. I have it working on other systems, but I have not tried to do it with two or more messages coming in.

I am looking for a way in which you can join the data using this. I don't care how it is presented afterwards, as I will use a template/function node to format into a reasonable manner for influx out. Ideally naming each data point using the name captured in the /name topic.

I tried using a join node, using msg.payload to create a key/value with msg.payload.fixture[0].serialNum as the key. But this did not function as I expected.

Almost certain I am missing something obvious here, can anyone advise?

Use the topic as the key. Then you will get an entry in msg.payload for each topic