Limit access to Node-RED via client certificates

Hi folks,

I saw tonight an interesting proposal about an extra level of security for Node-RED via internet, by whitelisting a list of ip addresses.

Although it is a very interesting article, I don't think I will be able to use it because my ip addresses (that need access NR) are not fixed. Filtering on MAC addresses would solve my case, but you don't know the MAC address of the device that sends the request (if I am not mistaken).

So there need to be something else on my devices, that allows them to access my Node-RED web application. I am not a security expert, but I assume a client certificate is safe enough to do the job.

1. Setup SSL

Note that in order to be able to use a client certificate, you first need to setup SSL in Node-RED (i.e. https).

SSL works like this:

1. Your device (e.g. browser on your smartphone) accesses your Node-RED system.
  2. Based on your server certificate, an SSL handshake will be executed between both devices.
  3. Your device browser receives the server certificate and will encrypt all data with it, before sending it to the Node-RED server.
  4. Your Node-RED server will decrypt the data using the corresponding private key.
  5. Which means all your data is transferred in a secure way between both devices.

On my Raspberry I had to execute following commands to create a private key, csr (certificate signing request) and corresponding (self signed) certificate:

cd /home/pi/.node-red/
openssl genrsa -out server-key.pem 2048
openssl req -new -sha256 -key server-key.pem -out server-csr.pem
openssl x509 -req -in server-csr.pem -signkey server-key.pem -out server-cert.pem