Math formula in Function node for Darkroom Timer Program

Hello,

I am a newbie to the forums and Node Red too.

I am using Node Red to control my darkroom equipment using 2 remote control sockets. The user inputs a time that triggers a counter, turns the light on and then when the counter ends switches the light off.

I would like to add to the basic functionality by displaying f/stop calculations on the dashboard for information. I need to apply the formula T x 2^+f to the message payload. The value T is the message payload input and f is the stop increase or decrease which will be specified in each function node. An increase of half a stop of light would be T x 2^+0.5

Can anyone assist in helping me for apply the formula in a way that the function node can understand correctly?

Many thanks!

John.

Hi and welcome to the forum.

You may need to clarify the formula as given.

I can't parse that as valid sorry. 2^+f? Is that 2^2+f? (Two squared + f)

Ok, something else. (Not a problem though)

I have written an example flow that shows you how to do this, but you need to understand that the T and f must be sent at the same time - or: in the same message.

So ok: in my example T is defined in the inject node. But at some stage you are going to have to set things up.

If you are wanting T to be the msg.payload it isn't that hard to re-write the code in the function node.