Modbus TCP Server setup

hello
I am a newbie on node-red.

I want to setup a modbus TCP SERVER on my rasp PI which would have a certain IP address and aswer to requests coming from a remote Modbus TCP client (etiher coils or holding register)

I have uploaded Modbus contrib, node-red is working fine.

I am very confuse with how to setup a flow which would:
Create a Modbus TCP Server being able to get connected to a Modbus TCP Client
use nodes that would allow this server to send values to the client, based on functions codes (3 / 5 / 15 / ...)

I found many examples on how to setup a Modbus TCP CLIENT getting data from remote servers, I want to develop the opposite, i.e. have my PI being a server, which would react to queries from a remote client (which in that case would be a PLC polling data from multiple slaves/servers)

Any help would be wellcome, or indication about an example of flow which I could look into

Thanks

JL

I searched for modbus on the modbus flows site and found this, which says that it can be used to create a modbus server.

Hi, you can use node-red-contrib-modbus' Modbus Server or Modbus Flex Server nodes to do this. What is frequently confusing at first is that you need to use the Modbus write nodes to set register values (can't do it directly). You can inject to the server nodes to make them dump the registers so that you can read them, but to set register values you have to use the write nodes (TCP client nodes).

Thanks a lot.

I had figured that out after many hours of trials and mistakes. But you definitely confirm that I am on the right path.

Now trying to figure out how to pass coils (bits) vs registers (intergers) a proper way, especially for conducting multiple coils/register writes at once

Thanks again

JL

Hey Jake

I got something that works now.

Only thing I can’t figure out at the moment is how to ‘’group’’ data per device number.