MQTT - Node Red - Smartthings

I have a MQTT server with control of my pool equipment. I would like to control the equipment using smartthings virtual switches via node-red and MQTT. I have node-red-contrib-smartthings installed. MQTT is working well and i can control a smartthings virtual switch in node-red using a function node. I cannot figure out how to connect MQTT to the function node to in turn control the switch.

Here is my current flow:

Here is the function code to turn off the virtual switch using an inject node

How can i connect MQTT and the virtual switch together? I am very new to this so thank you in advance.

Although i do not have Smartthings - my understading is that you use the Smartthings integration you have installed and send the commands to it - it will be attached to your Smartthings hub and MQTT does not need to get involved. i.e. the communication between NR and the Smartthings hub is not handled over MQTT but rather through the contrib node

Just did some searching on the Smartthings forum and it appears that yes the contrib node provides a webhook between NR and ST.

Craig

Try it like that ...

zzz

It's easy when you start using Node-red to write too much code in function nodes.

Your function nodes to set topic and payload are unnecessary.

You can achieve the same thing in your inject nodes:
Untitled 1

And if the message is initiated from somewhere else such as MQTT in, you can do the same with a change node.