Newbie help with Node inputs (for Lutron)

I just started playing around with Node Red a couple days ago, and I'm having trouble understanding how to format the message for certain nodes (in this instance Lutron Caseta Control Node).

I don't see any info for the Lutron nodes in the Help section, and others I have tried to use (Neato Botvac) don't have much help. I have set up the Lutron configuration, and using the Status node, I have gotten the events and IDs for the devices, so that part is working.

I have tried sending just a number as the payload for the brightness I want, I have tried creating a JSON (I'm new to JSON too, but familiar with Javascript) based on the Status node output in the payload, and also adding the properties to the msg object, but I haven't had any luck.

Is there a way to determine the input requirements for a node if it doesn't specify in it's help file? And specifically for this case, what I need to send the Lutron node to control the devices?

The fact that no-one has replied probably means no-one here has experience with those nodes. You could possibly ask the author via the node's github page, if there is one.

1 Like

Thanks. I'm just starting to learn, I looked into the .js file for that node, and it looks like it does use a number from the payload:

if (!isNaN(msg.payload)) {
                configNode.sendLutronCommand(this.devId, msg.payload);
            } else {
                console.log('Error could not converted input value to number val=' + msg.paylaod);
            }

... so I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong in this case. I'll have to see if I can contact the creator.

I'm not so much looking for help with just that node (that's just an example of one of the ones I haven't figured out yet), I'm looking to learn how to determine what a node needs. Some have very helpful 'help' files which describe the inputs/outputs, but many do not.