Newbie to NR, USB CDC challenge

We have devices that use FS-USB rather than UART, with their own VID and PID. I have integrated the node-red-contrib-usb 1.0.0 node, but as a newbie I am struggling to see how to use it. I have been searching for a simple example flow of data in/out and how to use the USB nodes for CDC.
This is not a virtual serial port topic, since we wish our devices to be auto-recognised through the USB VID/PID process automatically.
Hoping someone might be able to advise.

Welcome to the forum @DrGeoff

If you look at the node's page in the node-red flows library you will see that it has not been updated in 5 years, and if you look at it's github page there are several unaddressed issues. It looks likely that the node is abandoned.

What devices are you trying to access? How do they appear to the OS?

Thanks Colin,

Yes, I see that the node is abandoned, and that there are bulk transfer .js files that have also not been implemented.

Our devices use FS-USB, full speed USB, and are true USB devices rather than just serial comms. There is a VID/PID. The devices are IoT systems we have been developing that will have periodic requirement for data download that is not appropriate to do using the LoRaWAN aspect of the product.

We need to have data inputs to update the devices, and transferring of data out of the devices into CSV and JSON formal. So Node Red is interesting to us but I have not used it before. It looks like the perefect solution/console, except for the USB aspect.

I do have the data showing in debug using SERIAL Comms, and some buttons sending instructions back to the devices. But in the real world the USB cable will be plugged into different devices, where COM Port definitions will change.

I was surprised to see no active and proven USB solution in the NODE-RED box.

Colin, I should have answered your question. It appears as a CDC device.